We have moved to: estidamah Team

Wahj One

Seeking to build an innovative project that tells the story of commitment and endurance, a couple of senior students got the idea of making a solar car "Wahj"; they presented the idea to KFUPM advisory board. The project was approved and the deadline for the project in its first phase was set to be 30th of September 2011. Founding members then established a team that consists of 15 members known as Seraaj Team. The team consisted of engineering and management disciplines, ranging from freshman’s to seniors. Three groups were main pillars of the team’s structure; each group consists of three units. Team members were given the opportunity to choose one of the following units:

Mechanical Group.

  • Body & Aerodynamics Unit.
  • 3D Modeling & Simulation Unit.
  • Mechanical Systems Unit.

Electrical Group.

  • Motor & Controllers Unit.
  • Battery & Embedded Systems Unit.
  • Solar & Power Management Unit.

Media & Logistics Group.

  • Finance Unit.
  • Logistics Unit.
  • Media Unit.

To produce the best solar racing car possible, we had to explore the perfect balance between superior aerodynamics, high efficiency, light weight, safety, and reliability. However, being the first one; members faced difficulties in envisioning, designing, and manufacturing a solar race car in only 11 months with little background and experience in the subject. Nevertheless, Team members proved skeptics wrong by trying to build most of Wahj’s part inside Seraaj Team’s workshop. 85% of Wahj 1 parts were designed and manufacture by team members, only advanced technical parts were bought ready according to Seraaj team scope of specifications “for example solar cells and electric motor”. Parts, like car body and frame, were designed from scratch and manufactured from raw materials by team members. 


On 30th of September, 2011 Saudi Arabia officially entered the list of countries that manufacture cars by registering the first Saudi Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) according to Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) for Wahj 1. Two weeks after, Wahj 1 was successfully tested and passed all the required safety and reliability regulations for participating in World Solar Challenge 2011 race in Australia. On the 21st of October, Wahj 1 crossed the race finishing line, ranking 29th out 37 teams and second place on the new comers ranking. Seraaj Team Surpassed teams from well-known universities from USA, UK, South Korea, India and Canada. 
Aiming to be the best, Seraaj Team arrived from Australia to its Workshop to the second project “Wahj 2” with better results and performance.

إليكم هويّتنا الجديدة: فريق استدامة

وهج الأولى

نبعت فكرة بدء مشروع سيارة شمسية لدى طالبين كمشروع تخرج في آخر سنة دراسية لهم بجامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن، عُرضت الفكرة على المجلس الإداري للجامعة، لتتحول بذلك من مجرد مشروع تخرج طلابي لتصبح أكبر مشروع طلابي تشهده الجامعة. من هنا نشأ "فريق سراج"، حيث تكوّن الفريق من 15 عضواً يجمعهم هدف صناعة سيارة شمسية "وهج" يشاركون بها في سباق التحدي الشمسي العالمي المقام في سبتمبر 2011.

تم تقسيم الفريق لثلاث مجموعات أساسية، المجموعة الميكانيكية، المجموعة الكهربائية، مجموعة الدعم اللوجستي والإعلام.

المجموعة الميكانيكية. المجموعة الكهربائية. مجموعة الإعلام والدعم اللوجستي.
  • وحدة هيكل السيارة والديناميكية الهوائية.
  • وحدة التصميم والمحاكاة ثلاثية الأبعاد.
  • وحدة الأنظمة الميكانيكية.
  • وحدة المحرك و الإتصالات.
  • وحدة البطارية و الأنظمة المساندة.
  • وحدة الطاقة المشسية و التحكم.
  • وحدة المالية.
  • وحدة اللوجستيات.
  • وحدة الإعلام.

لصناعة أفضل سيارة شمسية ممكنة، كان لابد من الموازنة بين الديناميكية الهوائية للسيارة، الكفاءة العالية، خفة الوزن، السلامة، والقدرة على التحمل. كونها التجربة الأولى للفريق، واجه الفريق صعوبة في تصوّر، تصميم، وصناعة السيارة من الصفر خلال 11 شهر. بالرغم من ذلك، تمكن الفريق من إنهاء تصنيع سيارة وهج بشكل كامل خلال الفترة المحددة، حيث كانت مصنعة بأيدي الطلاب في المعمل بنسبة 85%، أما الأجزاء المتبقية والتي تتطلب تقنيات متقدمة وتكاليف عالية كالمحرك الكهربائي والخلايا الشمسية، فتم استيرادها من الخارج.

في سبتمبر عام 2011، دخلت السعودية رسمياً ضمن الدول المصنعة للسيارات بتسجيل أول رقم شاصيه لوهج1 لدى الهيئة الأمريكية لتسجيل لمحركات. خضعت وهج1 لإختبارات السلامة والطريق للسباق في استراليا، وفي الحادي والعشرين من اكتوبر عام 2011، أنهت وهج1 سباق التحدي الشمسي العالمي بمركز 29 ضمن 37 مشارك، وفي المركز الثاني للفرق المشاركة لأول مرة في السباق. تمكن فريق سراج من التغلب على فرق منافسة من جامعات مرموقة من بريطانيا، الولايات المتحدة، جنوب كوريا، الهند، وكندا.

لم يكتفي الفريق بإنهاء السباق، بل عكف بعد عوته لأرض الوطن على تصنيع سيارته الثانية "وهج2" مخططاً لأداء أفضل، ومركز أكثر تقدماً.